Common Causes of Constipation

For most people, constipation can be traced to a few common causes such as how much fibre they are eating, their fluid intake, use of certain medications, avoiding going to the bathroom, or how much physical activity they are getting.

Pink rope tied in a knot

No Fibre = No Go

Foods rich in fibre such as fruits, vegetables, and whole grain cereals help hold water in the stool to increase stool volume, making it easier to pass. Eating a diet dominated by low-fibre, starchy foods like white bread and white rice instead of whole grain versions is a recipe for constipation.

Dehydration can keep things from flowing

One of the colon’s main functions is to absorb excess water from waste once it has moved through the small intestine. When we don’t drink enough fluids, the body tries to conserve water in the blood by removing additional water from the stool. Stools that contain less water are difficult to pass. If you’re thirsty, your body is telling you to drink up. If you notice dark coloured urine, that’s also a sign that it’s well past time to rehydrate.

Medications

Some medicines that doctors prescribe to treat other health problems may cause constipation. Check with your doctor first to see if you are taking any medicines that may cause constipation.

Holding it in

Sometimes we put off going to the bathroom when it doesn’t quite fit our schedule. But habitually ignoring the urge to pass a bowel movement can lead to constipation.

Additionally, other medical conditions such as stroke, diabetes, intestinal blockage, or low thyroid hormones, as well as problems with the colon, may also contribute to constipation.

RestoraLAX Bottle with a glass of water Save$3.00
Trial offer RestoraLAX NeatPax Trial Offer Try RestoraLAX®!

Causes courantes de la constipation occasionnelle:

Pour la plupart des gens, la constipation peut être attribuée à quelques causes fréquentes telles que la quantité de fibre et de liquide consommés, la prise de certains médicaments, le fait d’éviter d’aller à la selle ou la quantité d’activité physique pratiquée.

Nœud dans une corde rose

Pas de fibres = Pas d’évacuation

Les aliments riches en fibres tels que les fruits, les légumes et les céréales de grains entiers, permettent de conserver l’humidité dans les selles, ce qui en augmente le volume et les rend plus faciles à évacuer. Une alimentation pauvre en fibre et riche en féculents, comme le pain et le riz blancs, plutôt que d’aliments à grains entiers, est la recette parfaite pour provoquer la constipation.

La déshydratation peut nuire au transit intestinal

L’une des principales fonctions du côlon est d’absorber l’excès d’eau des selles suite à leur passage dans le petit intestin. Lorsque notre consommation de liquides est insuffisante, l’organisme tente de retenir l’eau dans le sang en retirant le surplus d’eau contenu dans les selles. Les selles dont le contenu en eau est moins élevé sont plus difficiles à évacuer. Si vous avez soif, votre corps vous indique qu’il est temps de boire. Des urines foncées sont aussi un signe d’une hydratation insuffisante.

Médicaments

Certains médicaments prescrits par les médecins pour traiter d’autres problèmes de santé peuvent aussi causer la constipation. Demandez d’abord à votre médecin si certains des médicaments qu’il vous a prescrits peuvent causer de la constipation.

Se retenir

Il nous arrive parfois d’éviter d’aller à la selle lorsque l’envie se présente en dehors de notre routine habituelle. Mais l’habitude d’ignorer ses envies d’aller à la selle peut entraîner la constipation.

De plus, des problèmes médicaux tels qu’un accident vasculaire cérébral, une occlusion intestinale ou un taux d’hormones thyroïdiennes peu élevé, peuvent aussi favoriser la constipation.

Flacon de RestoraLAX avec un verre d’eau Économisez! 3,00 $
Offre d’essai Offre d’essai de RestoraLAX PratiPAX Essayez RestoraLAX®!