Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions about RestoraLAX®.

1What is constipation?

Bristol Stool Chart
Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool --Type 1

Type 1

Sepearate hard lumps, like nuts (hard to pass).

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool -Type 2

Type 2

Sausage-shaped but lumpy.

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool --Type 3

Type 3

Like a sausage but with cracks on its surface.

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool --Type 4

Type 4

Like a sausage or snake, smooth and soft.

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool -Type 5

Type 5

Soft blobs with clear-cut edges (passed easily).

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool -Type 6

Type 6

Fluffy pieces with ragged edges, a mushy stool.

Bristol stool chart showing seven categories of stool --Type 7

Type 7

Watery, no solid pieces. Entirely liquid.

Constipation, or irregularity, occurs when a person’s bowel movements become difficult or when they occur less frequently than the person is used to. Constipation may occur when stool moves slowly through the colon, which could allow too much water to be removed. This can make the stool hard, dry and difficult to pass. Normal stools are soft and formed, and passed without straining.

Also, constipation is not just about not going, but also the quality of the stool. Hard, dry stools are difficult to pass. Normal stools are soft and formed, and are passed without straining.

You may experience additional symptoms beyond difficulty with bowel movements, such as abdominal discomfort, gas, bloating, and even fatigue, achiness or irritability.

BACK TO TOP

2What causes constipation?

Some common causes of constipation can include lack of exercise, diet, stress, travel, or any other changes in your daily routine or it could be the result of a slower digestive system. Even resisting the urge to go to the bathroom (something we all do, especially when things get busy) can contribute to irregularity.

Some medical conditions and various medications can also contribute to constipation. Some common types of medications could include: pain medications, antacids that contain aluminum or calcium, antispasmodic drugs, antidepressants, supplements containing iron or calcium, anticonvulsants for epilepsy, drugs for Parkinson’s and heart conditions. Check with your doctor or pharmacist regarding how your medications might be affecting your digestive health.

3How common is constipation?

Although you may be one of the millions of Canadians uncomfortable with discussing constipation, the truth is it’s a very common gastrointestinal complaint. In fact, based on a study in 2001, 27% of Canadians reported suffering from constipation in the previous three months.1

1Paré P et al. An Epidemiological Survey of Constipation in Canada: Definitions, Rates, Demographics, and Predictors of Health Care Seeking. Am J Gastroenterol 2001; 96:3130-3137.

4What can I do to help prevent constipation?

The good news is there are plenty of ways to help prevent constipation. Adding high-fibre foods, including oats, wheat bran, and brown rice, to your diet can help. Natural fibre is also found in apples, apricots, blackberries, prunes, raw carrots, kale, and peas. Staying active and exercising to your ability can help keep things moving along. Make sure to consult a doctor before starting a new exercise regimen. And the easiest tip: drink plenty of water and other liquids.

Even with a healthy lifestyle, you may still experience occasional constipation. If you do, RestoraLAX® might be right for you.

5What if constipation or changes in my bowel movements persist?

Please contact your doctor. Do not take any type of laxative for more than one (1) week, unless recommended by your doctor.

6How often do most people have a bowel movement?

There is a wide range or “normal” when it comes to bowel movements. Everyone’s normal is different. The average person can go anywhere from three times a day to three times a week. It is important to know what is normal for you, so you can recognize when you are experiencing constipation.

7What is RestoraLAX®?

RestoraLAX® (Polyethylene Glycol 3350) is an effective laxative that helps relieve you from occasional constipation without the side effects of gas, bloating or cramps or sudden urgency. It works by drawing water to the stool helping to soften and to increase the frequency of bowel movements

8How does RestoraLAX® work?

RestoraLAX® relieves occasional constipation by retaining water in the bowel to hydrate, soften stools and increase the frequency of bowel movements to help restore your body's natural rhythm.

9Does RestoraLAX® cause cramps or gas?

RestoraLAX® works to restore your body’s natural rhthym and allows bowel movements to occur more normally and lets you feel relief from occasional constipation without the side effects of cramping, bloating or gas.

10How do I take RestoraLAX®?

RestoraLAX® is taken once daily. The taste-free and grit-free powder dissolves easily and completely when stirred into 8 oz/250 mL of water or any other non-alcoholic beverage, hot or cold. Each bottle top has a measuring cap, marked to contain 17 grams of powder when filled to the indicated line (white section in cap). Single-dose packets of RestoraLAX® are also available. Ensure that the powder is fully dissolved before drinking. Do not drink if there are any clumps.

Do not take any type of laxative for more than one week unless recommended by a doctor.

11Can both adult men and women use RestoraLAX®?

Yes. RestoraLAX® can be taken by both adult (>18 years) men and women.

12Is the MiraLAX® brand sold in the USA the same as RestoraLAX® sold in Canada?

MiraLAX® contains the same molecule, PEG 3350, as RestoraLAX® in Canada. RestoraLAX® is recommended by doctors as an effective way to treat constipation.*

*RestoraLAX® relieves occasional constipation, without the side effects of gas, bloating or cramps. It works to soften the stool and increase the frequency of bowel movements.

*Use as directed.

Check with your doctor or pharmacist if you have any questions about RestoraLAX®.

13How long does it take RestoraLAX® to work?

RestoraLAX® works to gently relieve constipation. Most people will experience a bowel movement in as early as 24 hours and up to 72 hours.

14How much RestoraLAX® should I take?

The indicated dose is 17g. To take RestoraLAX®, use the bottle top as it is a measuring cap. Fill the measuring cap to the top of the white section which is marked to indicate the correct dose (17g). Adult (>18 years): Take one dose (17 g) daily. Stir and dissolve in 8 ounces (250 mL) of beverage (cold, hot, or room temperature) and then drink. RestoraLAX® dissolves easily and completely in everyday beverages like water, juice, coffee, or tea. Do not take more than directed, unless advised by a doctor. Ensure that the powder is fully dissolved before drinking. Do not drink if there are any clumps. For the RestoraLAX® Mix-in Pax, each packet comes premeasured with 17g doses.

15Can you use RestoraLAX® every day?

You can use RestoraLAX® for up to seven days. Do not take any type of laxative for more than one (1) week, unless recommended by a doctor. Overuse or extended use of any laxative may cause dependence for bowel function.

16Can I take RestoraLAX® while I’m pregnant?

RestoraLAX® is not indicated for pregnancy, however, speak to your doctor to see if RestoraLAX® is right for you.

17Can I give RestoraLAX® to kids?

The safety and efficacy of RestoraLAX® for use in children under 18 years of age have not been established. Do not use in children (18 years of age or under), unless advised by a doctor.

Foire aux questions

1Qu’est-ce que la constipation?

Échelle de Bristol
Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 1

Type 1

Selles dures, séparées en morceaux, comme des noix (difficiles à évacuer).

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 2

Type 2

En forme de saucisse, mais grumeleuses.

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 3

Type 3

Comme une saucisse, mais avec des craquelures à la surface.

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 4

Type 4

Ressemblent à une saucisse ou un serpent, sont lisses et molles.

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 5

Type 5

Morceaux mous, aux bords bien définis (faciles à évacuer).

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 6

Type 6

Morceaux duveteux, en lambeaux, selles détrempées.

Diagramme présentant les sept catégories de selles selon l’échelle de Bristol -Type 7

Type 7

Selles humides, pas de morceaux solides. Entièrement liquides.

La constipation ou l’irrégularité se produit lorsque vous avez de la difficulté à aller à la selle ou lorsque vous y allez moins fréquemment. La constipation peut se produire lorsque les selles se déplacent lentement dans le côlon, de sorte qu’une trop grande quantité d’eau est éliminée. Cela peut rendre les selles dures et sèches, et difficiles à évacuer. Les selles normales sont molles et définies, ce qui les rend faciles à éliminer.

De plus, la constipation n’est pas qu’une question d’évacuation, c’est aussi une question de la qualité des selles. Lorsqu’elles sont dures, les selles sont difficiles à évacuer. Les selles normales sont molles et bien définies, et elles sont faciles à évacuer.

Vous pouvez aussi avoir d’autres symptômes en plus de la difficulté à aller à la selle, comme des malaises abdominaux, des flatulences, et des ballonnements, voire de la fatigue, des douleurs ou de l’irritabilité.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

2Qu’est-ce qui cause la constipation?

Les causes les plus courantes de la constipation comprennent l’inactivité physique, l’alimentation, le stress, les voyages et tout autre changement des activités quotidiennes. La constipation peut aussi être le résultat d’un ralentissement de l’activité du système digestif. Même le fait de résister au besoin d’aller aux toilettes (une situation qui peut arriver à tout le monde, surtout lorsque nous sommes très occupés) peut entraîner un problème d’irrégularité.

Certains problèmes médicaux et différents types de médicaments peuvent aussi être à l’origine de la constipation. Les types de médicaments les plus courants comprennent : les analgésiques, les antiacides contenant de l’aluminium ou du calcium, les antispasmodiques, les antidépresseurs, les suppléments contenant du fer ou du calcium, les anticonvulsivants pour traiter l’épilepsie, les médicaments pour la maladie de Parkinson et ceux pour les problèmes cardiaques. Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien pour savoir comment vos médicaments pourraient agir sur votre système digestif.

3La constipation est-elle courante?

Même si vous faites partie des millions de Canadiens qui ne sont pas à l’aise de parler de constipation, la vérité, c’est qu’il s’agit d’un trouble gastro-intestinal très courant. En fait, selon une étude réalisée en 2001, 27 % des Canadiens avaient affirmé avoir souffert de constipation au cours des trois mois précédents1.

1Paré P. et al. An Epidemiological Survey of Constipation in Canada: Definitions, Rates, Demographics, and Predictors of Health Care Seeking. Am J Gastroenterol 2001; 96:3130-3137.

4Que puis-je faire pour éviter la constipation?

La bonne nouvelle, c’est qu’il existe de nombreuses façons d’éviter la constipation. L’ajout d’aliments à teneur élevée en fibres à votre régime, notamment le gruau, le son de blé et le riz brun, peut vous aider. Des aliments comme les pommes, les abricots, les mûres, les prunes, les carottes crues, le chou frisé et les pois contiennent aussi beaucoup de fibres. Être actif et faire de l’exercice, selon vos capacités, aident aussi à faire en sorte que les choses tournent rondement. Assurez-vous de consulter un médecin avant d’entreprendre un nouveau programme d’exercices. Et la chose la plus facile : buvez beaucoup d’eau et d’autres liquides.

Les épisodes de constipation occasionnelle peuvent survenir même si vous menez un mode de vie sain. Si c’est votre cas, RestoraLAX® pourrait être la solution pour vous.

5Que faire si la constipation ou les changements liés à mes selles persistent?

Veuillez communiquer avec votre médecin. Ne prenez aucun type de laxatif pendant plus d’une (1) semaine, sauf avis contraire du médecin.

6À quelle fréquence la majorité des gens vont-ils aux toilettes?

En matière d’évacuation, la « normalité » est un concept qui varie beaucoup. Chaque personne est en effet unique. En moyenne, la fréquence d’évacuation varie de trois fois par jour à trois fois par semaine. Pour savoir si vous êtes constipé, vous devez d’abord savoir ce qui est normal pour vous.

7Qu’est-ce que RestoraLAX®?

RestoraLAX® (polyéthylène glycol 3350) est un laxatif efficace qui aide à soulager la constipation occasionnelle sans causer d’effets secondaires tels que les flatulences, les ballonnements et les crampes et sans provoquer d’envies subites d’aller à la selle. Il agit en attirant l’eau vers les selles, ce qui permet de les ramollir et ainsi d’augmenter la fréquence des évacuations.

8Comment RestoraLAX® agit-il?

RestoraLAX® aide à combattre la constipation occasionnelle en retenant l’eau dans l’intestin pour hydrater et ramollir les selles, accroître la fréquence des évacuations et rétablir le rythme naturel de votre corps.

9RestoraLAX® cause-t-il des crampes ou des flatulences?

RestoraLAX® contribue à rétablir le rythme naturel de votre corps et à accroître la fréquence des évacuations pour vous soulager de la constipation occasionnelle, sans crampes, ballonnements et flatulences.

10Comment prend-on RestoraLAX®?

RestoraLAX® se prend une fois par jour. La poudre sans arrière-goût qui ne laisse pas de résidu se dissout facilement et complètement lorsqu’on la mélange à 250 mL/8 oz d’eau ou d’une autre boisson non alcoolisée, chaude ou froide. Chaque flacon comprend un bouchon doseur qui permet de mesurer une quantité de 17 grammes de poudre en le remplissant jusqu’à la ligne (la section blanche du bouchon). RestoraLAX® est aussi offert en sachets unidose. Assurez-vous que la poudre est entièrement dissoute avant de boire le mélange. Ne buvez pas le mélange s’il contient des grumeaux.

Ne prenez aucun type de laxatif pendant plus d’une semaine, sauf sur avis contraire du médecin.

11Est-ce que RestoraLAX® est recommandé autant pour les femmes que pour les hommes adultes?

Oui. RestoraLAX® est recommandé autant pour les femmes que pour les hommes adultes (18 ans et plus).

12Est-ce que le produit de marque MiraLAX® vendu aux États-Unis est le même que le produit de marque RestoraLAX® offert au Canada?

MiraLAX® contient du PEG 3350, soit la même molécule que celle entrant dans la composition du RestoraLAX® vendu au Canada. Les médecins recommandent RestoraLAX® pour le traitement efficace de la constipation*.

*RestoraLAX® soulage la constipation occasionnelle sans les effets secondaires que sont les flatulences, les ballonnements et les crampes. Il agit pour ramollir les selles et augmenter la fréquence des évacuations.

*Utiliser selon les directives.

Pour toute question au sujet de RestoraLAX®, communiquez avec votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

13Combien de temps faut-il avant que RestoraLAX® fasse effet?

RestoraLAX® soulage la constipation en douceur. Chez la plupart des gens, les selles sont évacuées dans un délai de 24 à 72 heures suivant le traitement.

14Quelle quantité de RestoraLAX® devrais-je prendre?

La dose indiquée est de 17 g. Utilisez le bouchon doseur de la bouteille de RestoraLAX® pour bien mesurer la dose à prendre. Il suffit de remplir le bouchon-doseur jusqu’en haut de la partie blanche indiquant la dose à prendre (17 g). Adultes (> 18 ans) : Prenez une dose (17 g) par jour. Mélangez et dissolvez la poudre dans 250 mL (8 onces) de boisson (froide, chaude ou à la température ambiante), puis buvez le tout. RestoraLAX® se dissout facilement et complètement dans les boissons que nous buvons quotidiennement tels que l’eau, le jus, le café ou le thé. Ne prenez pas plus que la dose indiquée, à moins d’avis contraire d’un médecin. Assurez-vous que la poudre est entièrement dissoute avant de boire le mélange. Ne buvez pas le mélange s’il contient des grumeaux. Les sachets à mélanger RestoraLAX® contiennent une dose prémesurée de 17 g chacun.

15Peut-on utiliser RestoraLAX® quotidiennement?

Vous pouvez utiliser RestoraLAX® pendant jusqu’à sept jours. Ne prenez aucun type de laxatif pendant plus d’une (1) semaine, sauf sur avis contraire du médecin. Une surutilisation ou une utilisation prolongée de laxatif peut entraîner une accoutumance de la fonction intestinale.

16Puis-je utiliser RestoraLAX® si je suis enceinte?

RestoraLAX® n’est pas indiqué pour les femmes enceintes. Vous pouvez cependant discuter avec votre médecin pour savoir si RestoraLAX® vous convient.

17Puis-je donner RestoraLAX® aux enfants?

L’innocuité et l’efficacité de RestoraLAX® chez les enfants de moins de 18 ans n’ont pas été établies. Ne pas utiliser chez les enfants (18 ans et moins), à moins d’avis contraire d’un médecin.