Constipation and Fibre | RestoraLAX® Canada

Constipation 101

Constipation and Fibre

A painfully knotted tube

Article developed in partnership with Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF)

Constipation — you’ll know when you have this digestive condition. It means infrequent or difficult bowel movements. It often occurs when digested food moves too slowly through the digestive tract. As a result, the body removes (absorbs) too much water from the stools, causing them to become hard, dry and difficult to pass.

Constipation is very common! One in four Canadians has symptoms of constipation. It can affect the young and elderly and everyone in between. For some people, constipation develops suddenly and lasts for a short time. For others, particularly older people, it may begin gradually and last for an extended period of time.

There are several different reasons someone can be constipated. Some reasons include:

  • Not enough fibre or fluids in the diet
  • Not enough physical activity
  • Changes in toilet routines (for example, when on a vacation)
  • Not using laxatives properly
  • Some medications or supplements

Following a high-fibre diet can be a good way to ease symptoms of constipation. High-fibre foods help your stools stay soft by holding on to liquid.

Types of Fibre:

There are two main types of fibre:

  • Soluble fibre: As their name suggests, soluble fibres dissolve in water.
  • Insoluble fibre: Insoluble fibres also help keep you regular. Insoluble fibres are neither broken down nor absorbed. They remain intact and provide bulk to what travels down the digestive tract. They help prevent intestinal blockages, constipation and hemorrhoids.

It’s important to get a variety of fibre in your diet to get the health benefits of both types of fibre. CDHF always recommends when increasing your fibre intake, start out with smaller doses and increase over time. If you want to increase your intake, consider choosing the following:

  • Fruits: Choose fresh fruit over fruit juice, as the skin and pulp found in fresh fruit is packed with fibre. Apples, apricots, grapefruit, mangoes and oranges all offer high sources of soluble fibre. Dried fruits, including dates and prunes, are well known for their role in relieving constipation. These foods are high in insoluble fibre and keep your bowels moving.
  • Vegetables: Vegetables are rich in fibre, vitamins and minerals and they make great snacks! Carrots, celery or cucumbers are delicious on their own or dipped in hummus and are loaded with fibre. Potatoes, Brussels sprouts, turnips, sweet potatoes and asparagus are all great sources of fibre.
  • Whole Grains and Cereals: Choose whole grains whenever possible. Refined grains have all or part of the germ and bran removed, removing the valuable fibre, vitamins and minerals, whereas whole-wheat flour, whole grains and wheat bran are chock-full of insoluble fibre.
  • Beans, Peas and Lentils: Black beans, kidney beans and navy beans are especially high in soluble fibre. Lentils, peas, carob, soybeans, clover, peanuts, alfalfa and tamarinds are all considered stellar sources of fibre. Add cooked beans or lentils to meat dishes such as stews, chillies, lasagne or stir-fries.
  • Seeds and Nuts: Seeds and nuts are powerhouses for nutrients and fibre. Consider mixing seeds and nuts into your favourite muffin recipe, salads or stir-fries. Finely chop almonds and walnuts and then add them to soup. Sprinkle ground flaxseed on your favourite breakfast cereal for a quick and easy boost of fibre.

If you still aren’t reaching your fibre needs through food to help relieve constipation, sometimes adding a fibre supplement to your diet can help. When choosing a supplement, always read the label and make sure you are choosing the right one for you. RestoraFIBRE® gummies are great for those on the go, and are packed with the soluble fibre inulin. Two gummies twice a day can give you eight grams of fibre a day!

References:
Canadian Digestive Health Foundation. (2021). https://cdhf.ca"

Canadian Digestive Health Foundation logo

Proudly certified by the Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF)

RestoraLAX® proudly displays the CDHF Certified Symbol of Distinction which indicates that the Foundation acknowledges the efficacy of RestoraLAX® for the relief of occasional constipation.

Related Articles

Insulin is a soluble fibre

Inulin: a Soluble Fibre

A painfully knotted tube

Causes of Constipation

A toilet on a blue background with lid half open

How to Avoid Constipation

A man with his hands clasped around his stomach in pain from constipation

Tips for Finding Relief

Constipation et fibres | RestoraLAX® Canada

Information sur la constipation

Constipation et fibres

A painfully knotted tube

Article rédigé en partenariat avec la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD)

La constipation : un trouble digestif facilement reconnaissable. Elle se traduit par des selles peu fréquentes ou difficiles à évacuer. La constipation survient souvent lorsque les aliments digérés se déplacent trop lentement dans le tube digestif. Par conséquent, le corps enlève (absorbe) trop d’eau des selles, ce qui les rend dures, sèches et difficiles à éliminer.

La constipation est très courante : un Canadien sur quatre présente des symptômes de constipation. Elle peut toucher les personnes de tout âge. Chez certaines personnes, la constipation apparaît soudainement et est de courte durée, tandis que chez d’autres, surtout les personnes âgées, elle se manifeste graduellement et dure très longtemps.

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer la constipation. En voici quelques-­unes :

  • Une quantité insuffisante de fibres ou de liquides dans le régime alimentaire;
  • Une activité physique insuffisante;
  • Des changements à la routine d’évacuation (par exemple, en vacances);
  • L’utilisation inappropriée de laxatifs;
  • La prise de certains médicaments ou suppléments.

Adopter un régime alimentaire riche en fibres peut être un bon moyen d’atténuer les symptômes de constipation. Les aliments à haute teneur en fibres aident à ramollir les selles en retenant le liquide.

Types de fibres :

Il existe deux principaux types de fibres:

  • Les fibres solubles : Comme leur nom l’indique, les fibres solubles se dissolvent dans l’eau.
  • Les fibres insolubles : Les fibres insolubles favorisent aussi une bonne régularité. Elles ne sont ni métabolisées ni absorbées. Elles demeurent intactes et fournissent du lest aux matières qui se déplacent dans le tube digestif. Elles aident aussi à prévenir les occlusions intestinales, la constipation et les hémorroïdes.

Il est important de consommer une variété de fibres pour profiter des bienfaits des deux types de fibres. La FCSD recommande toujours à ceux et celles qui souhaitent augmenter leur apport en fibres de le faire graduellement. Aliments à privilégier pour accroître sa consommation de fibres :

  • Fruits : Optez pour des fruits frais plutôt que des jus de fruits, car la peau et la pulpe des fruits frais sont très riches en fibres. Les pommes, les abricots, les pamplemousses, les mangues et les oranges représentent tous une source élevée de fibres solubles. Les fruits secs, y compris les dattes et les pruneaux, sont bien connus pour leur rôle dans le soulagement de la constipation. Ces aliments sont riches en fibres insolubles et favorisent le transit intestinal.
  • Légumes : Les légumes sont riches en fibres, en vitamines et en minéraux, et ils font de bonnes collations! Les carottes, le céleri et les concombres sont délicieux seuls ou trempés dans le houmous, et en plus, ils sont remplis de fibres. Les pommes de terre, les choux de Bruxelles, les navets, les patates douces et les asperges sont aussi riches en fibres.
  • Grains entiers et céréales : Dans la mesure du possible, optez pour des aliments à grains entiers. Les grains raffinés sont des grains entiers dont le germe et le son, et donc les fibres, les vitamines et les minéraux précieux, ont été extraits; la farine de blé entier, les grains entiers et le son de blé, eux, sont remplis de fibres insolubles.
  • Haricots, pois et lentilles : Les haricots noirs, les haricots rouges et les haricots blancs sont particulièrement riches en fibres solubles. Les lentilles, les pois, la caroube, le soja, le trèfle, les arachides, la luzerne et les tamarins sont tous considérés comme d’excellentes sources de fibres. Ajoutez des lentilles ou des haricots cuits aux plats de viande, comme les ragoûts, les chilis, la lasagne ou les sautés.
  • Graines et noix : Les graines et les noix renferment beaucoup de nutriments et de fibres. Songez à ajouter des graines et des noix à votre recette de muffin préférée, à vos salades ou à vos sautés. Hachez finement des amandes et des noix, puis ajoutez-­les à votre soupe. Parsemez vos céréales de petit-déjeuner préférées de graines de lin moulues pour obtenir un apport rapide et facile en fibres.

Si vous n’arrivez toujours pas à combler vos besoins en fibres grâce à votre alimentation pour soulager votre constipation, l’ajout d’un supplément de fibres à votre régime alimentaire peut s’avérer utile. Lorsque vous choisissez un supplément, lisez toujours l’étiquette et assurez-vous de choisir celui qui vous convient. Les gelées RestoraFIBRE® sont parfaites pour les gens occupés et sont remplies d’inuline, une fibre soluble. Prendre deux gelées, deux fois par jour, peut fournir jusqu’à 8 grammes de fibres par jour!

Référence
Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (2021). https://cdhf.ca/fr/

Canadian Digestive Health Foundation logo

Fièrement certifié par la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD)

RestoraLAX® porte fièrement le symbole de distinction de la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD), qui signifie que la Fondation reconnaît son efficacité pour le soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle.

Articles connexes

Insulin is a soluble fibre

L’inuline, une fibre soluble

A painfully knotted tube

Causes de la constipation

Constapation avoidance aids including fruits and vegetables, fiber, a glass of water and an exercise dumbell

Comment éviter la constipation?

A man with his hands clasped around his stomach in pain from constipation

Conseils pour le soulagement de la constipation