Inulin: a Soluble Fibre | RestoraLAX® Canada

Constipation 101

Inulin: a Soluble Fibre

Insulin is a soluble fibre

Article developed in partnership with Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF)

Fibre is an important part of a healthy, balanced diet, and yet Canadians don’t consume enough of it. The majority of us consume less than half the daily recommended amount when we should be consuming anywhere between 25 grams of fibre for women and 38 grams of fibre for men.

Not meeting this goal may cause digestive ailments, which can impact your overall health.

What is fibre and inulin?

Also known as roughage or bulk, fibre is found in plant foods such as fruits, vegetables, grain products, lentils, nuts and seeds. There are many different types of fibres, the most common being soluble and insoluble. As their name suggests, soluble fibres dissolve in water.

As they travel through the digestive tract absorbing water in the stomach and intestine, they create a gel-like substance that slows digestion and prevents certain fats and sugars from being broken down and absorbed. Soluble fibres are fermented and used by bacteria in the intestine. Insoluble fibres are neither broken down nor absorbed. They remain intact and provide bulk to what travels down the digestive tract.

Inulin is a soluble fibre that is naturally found in many plants and vegetables. A good source of inulin is chicory root. Other foods high in naturally occurring inulin include:

  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Raw asparagus
  • Leeks
  • Wheat
  • Jerusalem artichokes

Inulin is additionally available as a supplement, in capsule form, as a pill or powder, and most recently in gummies.

Inulin is also a fructan. Fructans are made up of chains of fructose molecules that link together in a way that the small intestine cannot break down. In its place, they travel to the lower gut and act as a prebiotic, where they feed beneficial gut bacteria. Prebiotics are food for the healthy bacteria (probiotics) in your digestive system. They can encourage the growth of those beneficial bacteria, helping to support and maintain a healthy digestive system.

Benefits of Inulin on Digestive Health

Research has linked inulin fibre to several health benefits, including supporting a healthy digestive system and relieving constipation.

Your digestive tract is home to trillions of bacteria, collectively called your gut microbiota. The bacteria in your gut contribute to your overall health.

Inulin acts as a “prebiotic,” which feeds healthy bacteria in our gut. Soluble fibres like inulin help regulate the speed at which food moves through the digestive system, which over time, can be beneficial for those who struggle with constipation.

A meta-analysis found that people taking inulin experienced more frequent bowel movements and improved stool consistency, and another four-week study showed adults who consumed inulin daily reported improved constipation.

Although more research in this area is needed, we know that inulin has several potential health benefits, including promoting gut health and relieving constipation.

References

Canadian Digestive Health Foundation. (2021). https://cdhf.ca Collado Yurrita L, San Mauro Martín I, Ciudad-Cabañas MJ, Calle-Purón ME, Hernández Cabria M. (2014). Effectiveness of inulin intake on indicators of chronic constipation; a meta-analysis of controlled randomized clinical trials. Nutr Hosp. 30(2):244-52. doi: 10.3305/nh.2014.30.2.7565 Marteau P, et al. (2011). Effects of chicory inulin in constipated elderly people: a double-blind controlled trial. Int J Food Sci Nutr. 62(2):164-70. doi: 10.3109/09637486.2010.527323 Shoaib, M. et al. (2016). Inulin: Properties, health benefits and food applications. Carbohydrate Polymers. 147:444-454. doi: 10.1016/j.carbpol.2016.04.020 

Canadian Digestive Health Foundation logo

Proudly certified by the Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF)

RestoraLAX® proudly displays the CDHF Certified Symbol of Distinction which indicates that the Foundation acknowledges the efficacy of RestoraLAX® for the relief of occasional constipation.

Related Articles

Representation of constipation and fibre

Constipation and Fibre

A painfully knotted tube

Causes of Constipation

A toilet on a blue background with lid half open

How to Avoid Constipation

A man with his hands clasped around his stomach in pain from constipation

Tips for Finding Relief

L’inuline : une fibre soluble | RestoraLAX® Canada

Information sur la constipation

L’inuline, une fibre soluble

Insulin is a soluble fibre

Article rédigé en partenariat avec la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD)

Les fibres sont une composante importante d’une alimentation saine et équilibrée. Pourtant les Canadiens n’en consomment pas assez. La majorité d’entre nous consomme moins de la moitié de la quantité quotidienne recommandée, alors que les femmes devraient consommer 25 grammes de fibres par jour et les hommes, 38 grammes.

Un apport insuffisant en fibres peut entraîner des troubles digestifs pouvant avoir une incidence sur l’état de santé général.

Qu’est-ce qu’une fibre et l’inuline?

On retrouve des fibres dans les aliments d’origine végétale, comme les fruits, les légumes, les produits céréaliers, les lentilles, les noix et les graines. Il existe de nombreux types de fibres, les plus courants étant les fibres solubles et les fibres insolubles.

Comme leur nom l’indique, les fibres solubles se dissolvent dans l’eau. Lorsqu’elles traversent le tube digestif, elles absorbent de l’eau dans l’estomac et les intestins, et se transforment en une substance gélatineuse qui ralentit la digestion et empêche le métabolisme et l’absorption de certains lipides (matières grasses) et de certains glucides (sucres). Ces fibres solubles sont fermentées et utilisées par les bactéries présentes dans l’intestin. Quant aux fibres insolubles, elles ne sont ni métabolisées ni absorbées. Elles demeurent intactes et fournissent du lest aux matières qui se déplacent dans le tube digestif.

L’inuline est une fibre soluble naturellement présente dans de nombreuses plantes et de nombreux légumes. Par exemple, la racine de guimauve représente une bonne source d’inuline. Parmi les autres aliments riches en inuline naturelle, on compte :

  • l’ail;
  • les oignons;
  • les asperges crues;
  • les poireaux;
  • le blé;
  • les topinambours;

L’inuline est également offerte en supplément, sous forme de capsules, de comprimés ou de poudre, et plus récemment de gelées.

L’inuline est aussi un fructane. Les fructanes sont constitués de chaînes de molécules de fructose liées entre elles de manière à ce que l’intestin grêle ne puisse pas les métaboliser. Ils se déplacent alors vers le côlon et agissent comme un prébiotique, nourrissant des bactéries intestinales bénéfiques. Les prébiotiques représentent une source alimentaire pour les bactéries saines (probiotiques) du système digestif. Ils peuvent favoriser la croissance de ces bactéries bénéfiques, contribuant ainsi à soutenir et à maintenir la santé du système digestif.

Bienfaits de l’inuline sur la santé digestive

Les chercheurs ont établi un lien entre l’inuline et plusieurs bienfaits pour la santé, notamment le maintien d’un système digestif sain et le soulagement de la constipation.

Le tube digestif abrite des billions de bactéries, collectivement appelées microbiote intestinal. Les bactéries présentes dans l’intestin contribuent à une bonne santé générale.

L’inuline agit comme un « prébiotique » qui nourrit les bactéries saines dans l’intestin. Les fibres solubles, comme l’inuline, aident à réguler la vitesse à laquelle les aliments se déplacent à travers le système digestif, ce qui, au fil du temps, peut être bénéfique chez les personnes qui souffrent de constipation.

Une méta-analyse a révélé que la consommation d’inuline augmentait la fréquence des selles et améliorait leur consistance. Dans le cadre d’une autre étude de quatre semaines, les adultes qui consommaient de l’inuline quotidiennement ont également signalé une atténuation de leur constipation.

Bien qu’il soit nécessaire d’effectuer davantage de recherches dans ce domaine, nous savons que l’inuline présente plusieurs bienfaits potentiels pour la santé, notamment le maintien d’une bonne santé intestinale et le soulagement de la constipation.

Références
Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (2021). https://cdhf.ca/fr/ Collado Yurrita L, San Mauro Martín I, Ciudad-Cabañas MJ, Calle-Purón ME, Hernández Cabria M. Effectiveness of inulin intake on indicators of chronic constipation; a meta-analysis of controlled randomized clinical trials. Nutr Hosp. 2014;30(2):244-52. doi: 10.3305/nh.2014.30.2.7565. Marteau P, et al. Effects of chicory inulin in constipated elderly people: a double-blind controlled trial. Int J Food Sci Nutr. 2011;62(2):164-70. doi: 10.3109/09637486.2010.527323. Shoaib, M. et al. Inulin: Properties, health benefits and food applications. Carbohydrate Polymers 2016;147:444-54. doi: 10.1016/j.carbpol.2016.04.020.

Canadian Digestive Health Foundation logo

Fièrement certifié par la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD)

RestoraLAX® porte fièrement le symbole de distinction de la Fondation canadienne de la santé digestive (FCSD), qui signifie que la Fondation reconnaît son efficacité pour le soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle.

Articles connexes

Representation of constipation and fibre

Constipation et fibres

A painfully knotted tube

Causes de la constipation

Constapation avoidance aids including fruits and vegetables, fiber, a glass of water and an exercise dumbell

Comment éviter la constipation?

A man with his hands clasped around his stomach in pain from constipation

Conseils pour le soulagement de la constipation