What are Laxatives?

Laxatives are commonly used medications for treating occasional constipation. They are available over the counter (OTC) and based on how they work, they can be categorized into osmotic agents, stimulants, bulk-forming agents, and stool softeners.

Understanding Laxatives

What are the different types of laxatives?

Osmotic agents

Agents such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), lactulose, and magnesium hydroxide are water-loving substances that attract and retain water in the colon to ease and enhance stool passage Polyethylene glycol (found in RestoraLAX®) increases stool frequency and softness in individuals with constipation. It works with the water in your body to hydrate and soften stool, unblocking your bowel.

Stimulant laxatives

This type of laxative makes your body go by directly stimulating the nerves in your colon. This causes the muscles of the intestinal wall to contract and helps to push the stool along. This action can be effective for relieving occasional constipation. Senna and Bisacodyl are the most commonly used stimulant laxatives and are found in brands such as Senokot®, Ex-Lax®, and Dulcolax®.

Bulk-forming agents

Bulk-forming agents are fibre supplements that trap water in the stool to increase stool weight and improve stool consistency. Commercially available fibre supplements include psyllium and bran. They may be appropriate for people who do not consume enough fibre in their diet. Some powder fibre supplements can be gritty and viscous when mixed into a beverage, which some people may find distasteful. Adequate fluid intake is necessary for bulk-forming agents to work; lack of water may enhance bloating. Bulk-forming brands include Benefibre® and Metamucil®.

Stool softeners

As the name suggests, stool softeners, such as docusate sodium, moisten and soften stool, making it easier to pass. They may work well for people with hard stools. Stool softener brands include Colace®.

A Guide to Over the Counter Laxatives

Osmotic Laxative‡* Bulk-Forming (Fibre) Laxative* Stimulant Laxative
Illustration of water moving through the human intestine
Illustration of the human intestine
Illustration showing the human intestine
Example of Brands RestoraLAX®, Phillips Milk of Magnesia Metamucil®, Fibre ChoiceTM Senokot®, Ex-lax®, Dulcolax®
Examples of Medical Ingredients Polyethylene glycol, Magnesium hydroxide Psyllium, Inulin Sennosides, Bisacodyl
Mode of Action Retains water in the bowel to soften stools and increase the frequency of bowel movements. Adds bulk and allows more water to remain in stools; making them larger, softer, and easier to pass. Works by stimulating the muscles of the bowel to accelerate the stool’s journey through the colon.
Form Generally available in powder form. Generally available in powder and oral pill form. Generally available in oral pill, liquid, or suppository form.
Osmotic Laxative‡*
Illustration of water moving through the human intestine
Example of Brands RestoraLAX®, Phillips Milk of Magnesia
Examples of Medical Ingredients Polyethylene glycol, Magnesium hydroxide
Mode of Action Retains water in the bowel to soften stools and increase the frequency of bowel movements.
Form Generally available in powder form.
Bulk-Forming (Fibre) Laxative*
Illustration of the human intestine
Example of Brands Metamucil®, Fibre ChoiceTM
Examples of Medical Ingredients Psyllium, Inulin
Mode of Action Adds bulk and allows more water to remain in stools; making them larger, softer, and easier to pass.
Form Generally available in powder and oral pill form.
Stimulant Laxative
Illustration showing the human intestine
Example of Brands Senokot®, Ex-lax®, Dulcolax®
Examples of Medical Ingredients Sennosides, Bisacodyl
Mode of Action Works by stimulating the muscles of the bowel to accelerate the stool’s journey through the colon.
Form Generally available in oral pill, liquid, or suppository form.

All registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

*for occasional constipation

for constipation and/or regularity

RestoraLAX Bottle with a glass of water Save$3.00
Trial offer RestoraLAX NeatPax Trial Offer Try RestoraLAX®!

Que sont les laxatifs?

Les laxatifs sont des médicaments couramment utilisés pour le traitement de la constipation occasionnelle. Ils sont offerts en vente libre et, selon leur mode d’action, ils peuvent être catégorisés en agents osmotiques, stimulants, agents de lest et émollients.

Comprendre le mode d’action des laxatifs

Quels sont les différents types de laxatifs?

Agents osmotiques

Des agents comme le polyéthylène glycol (PEG), le lactulose et l’hydroxyde de magnésium sont des substances hydrophiles qui attirent et retiennent l’eau dans le côlon afin de faciliter et améliorer le passage des selles. Le polyéthylène glycol (que l’on trouve dans RestoraLAX®) ramollit les selles et augmente la fréquence des évacuations chez les personnes souffrant de constipation. Ces agents agissent avec l’eau de l’organisme pour ramollir les selles et leur permettre de se déplacer librement dans l’intestin.

Laxatifs stimulants

Ce type de laxatifs entraîne l’évacuation en stimulant directement les nerfs qui provoquent les mouvements du côlon. Leur action amène les muscles de la paroi intestinale à se contracter pour faire passer les selles. Cette action peut être efficace pour soulager la constipation occasionnelle. Le senné et le bisacodyle sont les laxatifs stimulants les plus courants et on les trouve dans les produits de marque Senokot®, Ex-Lax® et Dulcolax®.

Agents de lest

Les agents de lest sont des suppléments de fibres qui emprisonnent l’eau dans les selles afin d’en augmenter la masse et d’améliorer leur consistance. Le psyllium et le son sont des suppléments de fibres offerts sur le marché. Ils peuvent convenir aux gens qui ne consomment pas suffisamment de fibres. Lorsqu’ils sont incorporés à une boisson, certains suppléments de fibre en poudre peuvent former un mélange granuleux et visqueux, dont le goût peut déplaire à certaines personnes. Une consommation adéquate de liquide est nécessaire pour assurer l’efficacité des agents de lest; le manque d’eau peut causer des ballonnements. Benefibre® et Metamucil® sont des marques qui offrent des laxatifs de lest.

Émollients

Comme le suggère leur nom, les émollients, tels que le docusate de sodium, humidifient et ramollissent les selles, ce qui en facilite l’évacuation. Ils peuvent agir efficacement chez les personnes dont les selles sont dures. Colace® est une marque d’émollient.

Guide pour les laxatifs en vente libre

Laxatif osmotique‡* Laxatif de lest (fibres)* Laxatif stimulant
Image représentant l’eau à l’intérieur de l’intestin humain
Image représentant un intestin humain
Image représentant un intestin humain
Exemples de marques RestoraLAX®, lait de magnésie Phillips Metamucil®, Fibre Choice® Senokot®, Ex-lax®, Dulcolax®
Exemples d’ingrédients médicinaux Polyéthylène glycol, hydroxyde de magnésium Psyllium, inuline Sennosides, bisacodyle
Mode d’action Retient l’eau dans l’intestin pour ramollir les selles et accroître la fréquence des évacuations. Augmente le volume des selles et leur permet de retenir l’eau, pour les rendre plus abondantes, plus molles et faciles à évacuer. Agit en stimulant les muscles de l’intestin afin d’accélérer le passage des selles dans le côlon.
Présentation Habituellement proposé sous forme de poudre. Habituellement proposé sous forme de poudre ou de comprimé à avaler. Habituellement proposé sous forme de comprimé, de liquide ou de suppositoire.
Laxatif osmotique‡*
Image représentant l’eau à l’intérieur de l’intestin humain
Exemples de marques RestoraLAX®, lait de magnésie Phillips
Exemples d’ingrédients médicinaux Polyéthylène glycol, hydroxyde de magnésium
Mode d’action Retient l’eau dans l’intestin pour ramollir les selles et accroître la fréquence des évacuations.
Présentation Habituellement proposé sous forme de poudre.
Laxatif de lest (fibres)*
Image représentant un intestin humain
Exemples de marques Metamucil®, Fibre Choice®
Exemples d’ingrédients médicinaux Psyllium, inuline
Mode d’action Augmente le volume des selles et leur permet de retenir l’eau, pour les rendre plus abondantes, plus molles et faciles à évacuer.
Présentation Habituellement proposé sous forme de poudre ou de comprimé à avaler.
Laxatif stimulant
Image représentant un intestin humain
Exemples de marques Senokot®, Ex-lax®, Dulcolax®
Exemples d’ingrédients médicinaux Sennosides, bisacodyle
Mode d’action Agit en stimulant les muscles de l’intestin afin d’accélérer le passage des selles dans le côlon.
Présentation Habituellement proposé sous forme de comprimé, de liquide ou de suppositoire.

Toutes les marques déposées appartiennent à leurs détenteurs respectifs.

* Pour la constipation occasionnelle

Pour la constipation et/ou l'irrégularité

Flacon de RestoraLAX avec un verre d’eau Économisez! 3,00 $